DAS invited Mr Ron Yoshimoto and Ms Jane Raissle to conduct the first Orton-Gillingham (OG) Course.


The Clementi Learning Centre was moved to Alexandra Primary School and renamed as Redhill Learning Centre.

OCT The Redhill Learning Centre at Alexandra Hill Primary School was officially opened by Dr Aline Wong, Minister of State (Education and Health). 
DEC Dr Aline Wong, Senior Minister of State (Education & Health) announced a MOE-DAS joint project and a starting grant of $500,000 which included $95,000 for the renovation of another DAS Learning Centre at Ping Yi Primary School. The balance was a subsidy paid over the following three years.
SEP Enrolment at DAS grew to 223 students under the guidance of 10 teachers.




DAS appointed its third Executive Director, Madam Ong Phiak Kim. 


DAS became a Lifetime member of the International Dyslexia Association. 


The Roshen Daruwalla Trust Fund was set up to provide support for needy dyslexic children. 
OCT The Official Opening Ceremony of the DAS Ang Mo Kio Learning Centre at Anderson Primary School was held with Mrs Goh Chok Tong as the Guest-of-Honour. DAS also celebrated its 10th Anniversary with a “Wild Wild West” Gala Dinner. Enrolment stood at 341 students.
FEB Mr Hawazi Daipi, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education officially opened the Bedok Learning Centre in Fengshan Primary School.
SEP Mr Robin Moseley took over as the fourth Executive Director at DAS.
DEC Redhill Learning Centre moved to Queenstown Primary School and was renamed the Queenstown Learning Centre.
JAN DAS started the Assessment Services with a team of seven psychologists. Enrolment stood at 528 students. 
SEP Representatives from DAS attended the Orton-Gillingham International Conference in Vancouver, Canada. This marked the start of regular DAS participation in major conferences overseas. 
DEC DAS held a press conference to announce the findings of a dyslexia awareness survey involving more than 720 parents. There was extensive media coverage on dyslexia and DAS was featured in all major newspapers and television channels.